Gong Fei: An Arrest in Tiananmen Square

This is called freedom of speech in China. Shouting your thoughts in a public place and off you go to ….never to be seen or heard from again.

Chopsticks and Cherry Blossoms

Truthfully, I debated writing this post for about a week after the incident I describe here occurred.  While I believe that this story is of significance, I realize that I am approaching it from a position of ignorance and could misinform the reader, and also that in posting this I do take some personal risk in that the Chinese government does not take kindly to netizens openly discussing potentially unflattering issues.  I finally resolved to write about what I saw because I feel compelled to tell this story.  While decrying meaning from this event is difficult, I think in the end it shows instances of conflicting humanity that is often ignored in America’s understanding of daily life under the Chinese Communist Party (CCP).

As a student of Chinese politics and Chinese history, visiting Tiananmen Square is an occasion for mixed feelings.  On one side of the emotional spectrum, the sense…

View original post 1,181 more words

One thought on “Gong Fei: An Arrest in Tiananmen Square

  1. Pingback: What happened to Tank Man, China’s most famous Tiananmen Square protester? | The Journalist

Leave a Reply

